Astray Red Frame

February 20, 2008 at 09:38 | Posted in 1/144 scale | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

The first 1/144 HG that I bought, because I fell for the samurai sword gimmick. The kit came with an additional booklet, a guide aimed at beginner modelers on how to paint, glue etc.. Came in very handy when I first started this hobby. Ended up buying almost everything that’s recommended in the book.

For painting, I bought metallic green and gold Gundam markers. The red and white bits were hand painted using Mr. Hobby lacquer paint. The bicep parts were quite difficult to paint, especially when you’re just starting out, like me. After the parts were painted, I applied black acrylic wash for panel lines (maybe a bit too black) and after that I sprayed it with Mr. Super Clear glossy finish

However, I overdid the glossy coating and decided to remove some of the super gloss from the kit. I bought Gunze’s flat color (it’s not actually color, it’s like a haze-colored gel). I mixed the gel with Mr Thinner and hand-painted over the glossy parts. Leave it to dry and voila… bye bye gloss. I also added a sticker that I got from Newtype magazine on the right shoulder. Finally I dry-brushed some silver on the red-colored parts.

astray_01.jpgastray_031.jpgastray_041.jpgastray_051.jpg

astray_07.jpgastray_02.jpgastray_061.jpg

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i want the mg versiin from this model


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

