My first Macross, among other things…

November 26, 2008 at 00:46 | Posted in Random rants | 5 Comments
Tags: , , ,

It’s been a slow month for me, in terms of gunpla progress. The cold weather’s not helping with things either. Add that to the fact that there’s not been any Gunpla release that I’m too keen on. That was until last week, when I came across this kit:

myfirstmacross

As far as I know, Bandai isn’t well known for producing Macross kits, and most of the Macross models are the horrendously overpriced, ready-made ones. So that’s the reason why I haven’t really ventured into Macross stuff. Now that Bandai has produced something that I can build and eventually customize, I might actually be looking forward to more releases (which I’m sure will happen, knowing Bandai’s evil marketing strategies).

I ended up buying Ozma Lee’s VF-25S for 3300yen, 1200yen cheaper than the retail price. I wasn’t too interested in the Alto version, mainly coz it looks kinda plain, plus it was somehow more expensive. The kit came with 2 sets of decals, the sticker type and water-slide decals, both with identical designs. I’m not sure why, but I’m not complaining. Since its in 1/72 scale, I can use my leftover aircraft decals on this one, too.

That was last week. Today I went to the local bookstore and picked up the January 2009 issue of Dengeki Hobby Magazine which came with 1/144 scale Gundam Rasel. Not that I’m crazy over Gundam 00 mecha designs, but I figured why not? The free kit looks horrible without proper painting and modifications. Instead of making the modifications from scratch, why not get a 1/144 HG with proper articulations and just ‘cut & paste’? LOL, sounds easier said than done.

dengeki-jan09

Inside there’s some info on the upcoming MG Sinanju. Apparently, for the gold engravings, the kit will be supplied with gold foil stickers AND yellow-colored water-slide decals with the same pattern. The warning decals will be supplied as dry transfer decals. Makes me wonder, wouldn’t it be easier painting the gold parts?? Pardon the poor image quality, I don’t have a scanner at home.

sin1-dengeki

And here’s the last bit. It seems they’ll release a bazooka for the MG Sinanju together with volume 8 of the Unicorn novel. It’s due to be released April next year. Hopefully I can get my hands on one of those.

sin2-dengeki

DISCLAIMER: what I’ve posted above might NOT be accurate information, since I still can’t read Japanese properly yet.

With that said, don’t hope for me to get started with those 2 kits either. I still haven’t finished my 1/100 Overflag (did I mention I bought an Overflag?) and some HCM Pro models. Anyway, I’ll have plenty of Gunpla and Macross-pla (????) to keep me occupied during the coming cold season. Cheers!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ah shoot that Dengeki Hobby’s been released already? I forgot! I want that Rasiel. I was looking at that Messaiah as well… but I’ve got a massive backlog of kits to go through and I’m not THAT keen on the Messaiah’s design.

    Have fun with the Overflag. Looking forward to the pics.

  2. Hey, how lucky you have that ozma just for 3300en…
    I think this bandai macross is great! It transformable and it is plamo! Not chogokin. Yamato and Hasegawa’s vf is indeed super detailed but not transformable. So, try it! And good luck at your Flag

  3. I actually just purchased the Alto super messiash model! I thought I’d get around to actually maybe inking and building a nice model, but it’s turned into nothing but a disaster.

    The alto model costs more, because it is in Super pack configuration, while your ozma lee one is unequipped.

    If you don’t mind me asking, where do you get your Gunpla equipment supplies from?

  4. aaron: i got most of my tools and paint from hobby shops here in japan. some department stores also sell gunpla supplies. but you should be able to find tools like cutter, hobby blade, file and sandpaper from your local hardware shops

    good luck on your super pack messiah

  5. Just bought my first Armoured Super Messiah Ozma Custom…looking forward to apply those slippery wet decals…never encountered them before with gunpla…as usual, only bought HG’s coz it’s cheaper…hehehe…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

