Overflag

June 10, 2009 at 23:10 | Posted in 1/100 scale | 6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Introduction

Even though I promised myself to build some gunpla during the winter, I instead went into gunpla hibernation. I started with teh Overflag late autumn last year, and only in mid-spring did I finish it. Yeah, my building speed is a neck-breaking 2 gunpla per year. Anyway, unlike most kits I bought, I already had predetermined plans when I bought this kit: paint it and decal it like an aircraft. I had a bunch of aircraft decals so why not? My initial plan was to paint it green with Japanese aircraft decals but then I thought maybe I had too many green models so I opted for the white colored version of the WWII Zero Fighter plane.

Materials & Methods

The kit design itself is relatively uncomplicated, but somehow required more work than most MG kits. This is because of many visible seam-lines and some parts that needed pre-painting, masking and assembling. Case in point: the face visor. I painted the parts behind the face visor with silver, assembled the whole head and masked the visor part with tape. I also filled some gaps in the knee and foot with epoxy putty and added some detail parts on the chest & wing tips.

I was hoping for a creamy-white color for this kit, but I couldn’t find the appropriate spray can so I ended up buying a grey-white colored one. I sprayed Mr. Surfacer on the parts before spraying the grey-white color. Then I applied an enamel wash consisting of brown-yellow paint. The end result was somewhat more grey with a tint of blue. Then I made a last-minute decision to ditch the Zero fighter decal scheme and replace it with an American fighter decal scheme, which I thought was more matching with the final colors. Finally I applied some weathering in the form of rust color chipping and some soot/ash effects near the exhaust/turbine parts.

Results

flag_01

flag_02 flag_03

flag_04 flag_05

flag_06 flag_07 flag_08

flag_09 flag_10 flag_11 flag_12

flag_13 flag_14 flag_15

flag_16 flag_18 flag_17

flag_19 flag_20 flag_21 flag_22

flag_23 flag_25 flag_24

 

Discussion

I didn’t really enjoy the building part of this kit, but the painting and decaling made up for it. I must say that this model kit is not very stable if you put it on standing position, due to the abnormally small feet. And in fighter mode it looks cool from certain angles but kinda awkward from other angles so I actually prefer to keep it in mobile suit mode. Overall its a relatively simple & straight-forward built and I’m pretty satisfied with the end result. I think the design is unique and refreshing, and is one of the nicer looking mobile suits from Gundam 00. Finally, I apologize for the shallow depth of field in the pictures; I was shooting handheld using the widest aperture.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. definitely one of the best flags i’ve ever seen. excellent in every regard. colour choice, execution, decal work, weathering. you did it all. 2 kits a year is fine if they’re of this quality.

    • wow, thanks dude. that was kinda flattering. haha

  2. That is pretty cool. I feel good with the colour. Good job buddy. :)

  3. one of the best Flag Custom that I’ve I tot at first it looks like a Macross but when I look at it closely its Flag … I like the small rusty and battle damage of that Flag :D really great job amigo :)

  4. So cool! I like the color and weathering.
    will bookmark your blog ^_^

  5. amazing work especially weathering. i envy your patience. with me, i have to either put the decals on 1 sitting and 3 sessions is pushing it. i have yet to venture into weathering. i’ve got panel lining using the marker and paint brush+smudging technique down, but as i am so lazy i just use the marker and smudge whatever is left off and i have the decals down.

    anyway, i found your how to sections very helpful, all i need now is money and a new kit… =\

    p.s. love the detail in your work.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

