Wonder Festival Winter 2010

February 11, 2010 at 03:14 | Posted in Events | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Boredom got the better of me when I decided to travel more than 150km to Makuhari Messe for the Winter Wonfes. Again, for the uninitiated, Wonfes is a showcase of figurines, garage kits and some cosplay on the side. Truth be told, I’m not really into any of those, but do like taking photos of both people and inanimate objects. I spent only a few hours at last year’s summer Wonfes but this time a have half a day to look around. Entrance fee was 2000yen and you get a booklet which also acts as the entrance ticket.

I’ll start off with some cutesy pics…

Before moving on to the not so cute…

This is how Batman is supposed to look like:

And as always, there’s Japan’s mascot, Godzilla. The green creature on the left might be a Kappa, but the hairstyle doesn’t suit the traditional description. Maybe he went to a stylist…

There were a few mecha-related figures on display, like these SRW ones:

Unsurprisingly, Gunpla were far and few in between, with most of them found at the Hooby Japan and Dengeki Hobby booths; the rest were scattered among the random garage kit vendors

and then there’s some random mecha

Last year there was a pillow cover of the Yaranaika-man; thankfully I didn’t come across it this year. Instead there’s the more pallatable pillow covers of anime girls:

And now it’s time for the main attraction of Wonfes: the figurines and garage kits. Enjoy

Somehow she looks like she’s wearing cabbages…

Last year there was a model of the (now ex) Prime Minister of Japan. This year’s celebrity is…

no points for guessing correctly. And now we return you to your regular programming…

And finally, some cosplay photos. I have to admire these cosplayers for parading outdoors in the chilly, windy conditions sometimes wearing only the slightest bit of clothing. Understandably, these particular cosplayers (with the least clothing on) have a line of photographers queuing up to take their photos. Here’s just some that I managed to take:

And this is what the inner frame of the Gundam MkII actually looks like:

And that’s about all the pictures I took. I was expecting that photos were the only things I was gonna bring back from this Wonfes, until I came across a small booth selling old and new gunpla kits. I decided to buy the 1/144 Turn-A, seeing as I already had a Kapool and Sumo of the same scale. It was cheaper than a bento, too. As I was on my way to the exit at the end of the day, with most vendors starting to pack up, I chanced upon a vendor selling an MG Strike Freedom Clear Color Version. It was one of the limited items on sale during last year’s Gundam Big Expo. Not wanting to miss out on it again, I proceeded with the purchase. It was slightly cheaper than the original selling price, and much more cheaper than prices quoted on online auctions. Now I’m contemplating whether to build it, or sell it to the highest bidder (cue evil laugh)…. Oh, here’s a photo of my procured items:

For those of you interested in the adult-oriented figurines, you can find some pics here. Definitely not safe for work. You have been warned.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for the coverage. The cosplayers are awesome!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

