Shizuoka Hobby Show 2012 (Part 1)

May 23, 2012 at 12:58 | Posted in Events | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I guess I should write about this while things are still fresh in my mind. Anyway, last weekend I went for my annual trip to the Shizuoka Hobby Show. As I did last year, I’ll just write a brief summary of what’s interesting in the Bandai booth and let you guys see the pics for yourselves. So here goes:

Master Grade: From the SEED series there’s the upcoming MG Blitz Gundam. From what I saw, it’s looks very similar to its 1/100 version, so I’ll pass. But what I won’t pass is the MG Buster Gundam, which is next on the line and displayed as a grey prototype at the show. For UC fans, there’s the MG Marasai which you can attach a green LED monoeye & ballute system (both sold separately). For AGE, I guess there’s MG AGE-2  (or was it 3?) coming up, but I didn’t pay much attention to it.

Real Grade: On display were the current Mk-II models, as well as the upcoming RG Justice Gundam. Not my cup of tea, but if you have the RG Freedom, I guess you might need its ‘partner’. Typical of Bandai, they’ll be releasing the greyed-out Phase Shift Down version on the Bandai Hobby Site. Anyone wanna guess what’s the next RG kit?

High grade: From the Unicorn OVA there’s the HGUC Ankusha. It looks kind of nice in MS mode, but I have soft spot for the Asshimar. Then there’s the HGUC Zaku Marine and the ReZEL Type-C Defenser b-unit. I kinda like the orange-grey color scheme of the ReZEL but one ReZEL is enough for me. There’s also the Base Jabber which is a UFO-like mobile suit carrier featured in the Unicorn OVA. Oh and how can I forget the flying space stingray: the HGUC Hambrabi. The design is too funky for me but I’m sure its fans will rejoice. Of course there’s also HG kits from the AGE series but nothing interest me.

Bandai Hobby Site items: On display were the stuff that you can only get from Bandai’s Hobby Site, such as clear plastic versions of HGUC Jesta & Delta Plus. Also displayed were the G-Defensor & Flying Armor for the RG Mk-II. There’s also recolored versions of existing kits like an orange-grey version of the plain ol’ HGUC ReZEL, Full Frontal use HGUC Geara Doga & the Phase Shift Down RG Justice/Freedom.

Option parts: Interestingly, Bandai will release some option parts in 1/100 and 1/144 scale. These include various shaped pink beams for more interesting beam rifle shot effects; spikes for Zaku shoulders, verniers and some hands. Some of these are already available by Kotobukiya et al. but it’s nice to have some options. As a follow-up to the 1/144 scale System Weapons, the third edition will feature beam rifle for 0083 Stardust Memory Gundams and shields for the MS 08th Team era mobile suits.

Other than Bandai stuff, I also took photos from other sections but I won’t be elaborating on them too much. What I’ll say is that for AGE gundam fans, Hobby Japan & Dengeki Hobby Magazines will release some add-on parts for modification into AGE-2 Artemis & AGE-1 Razor.

With that, I wrap up my report for this years Shizuoka Hobby Show. Don’t miss the next part of my report which will feature various works by Japanese modelling circles.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I want the RG justice! Nice red/pinkish MS! I’ve been fond of RGs lately despite their diffculty XD Going to build an RG Freedom soon. =3

    Wish I could also go on a trip to Hobby shows like these. =3


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

