Sign of the Zeta

November 28, 2012 at 12:19 | Posted in Random rants | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

It has been a while since my last random rant. This time it’s about the Zeta gundam. Unlike previous RG releases, there was a bit more fanfare with the release of the RG Zeta. Probably because it’s the 10th release of the RG line (if you count the Titans & AEUG Mk-II as separate releases).

I decided to buy one since I haven’t really built a proper Zeta kit yet. I did buy the MG Zeta 2.0 a long time ago but I sold it to recover some badly needed funds at the time. The RG Zeta cost 2500 yen at Yodobashi camera, slightly pricier than the standard RG kit; but it’s a fully transformable kit, which may have driven the price up a bit.

And inside the box, there’s an extra booklet which basically shows the concepts and history of the RG line. Here’s the front cover:

I also bought myself a copy of Gundam Ace manga (January 2013 issue) which comes with a 1/48 scale Zeta head display base. It’s looks to be a perfect complement for the RG Zeta. It’s molded in white, so painting is a must. Speaking of painting, I already have a custom color scheme in mind for my RG Zeta.

And for the next (February) issue of Gundam Ace (not actually released in February, but around the end of December), they’ll include a set of decals for the Zeta head, based on this pamphlet included in the RG Zeta kit:

If you look at the top-left corner, you can use the decals for 2 color schemes: standard red-white-blue-yellow and the white Zeta (Amuro’s custom). Although not mentioned specifically, it looks to be the standard peel-and-stick decals. Oh well, I’ll just stick to my water-slide decals. So here ends my Zeta rant and I’m looking forward to building it.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

