Turn X

August 11, 2014 at 11:18 | Posted in 1/144 scale | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

Introduction:

This is an old 1/144 scale kit; it’s not even labeled as HG. I bought it on a whim during one of the hobby events I went to. I have several concurrent gunpla projects going on (some on indefinite hiatus), so I wanted to build something quick and uncomplicated as a side project. This kit seemed like a good candidate for that.

Materials & Methods:

The building process was uncomplicated as expected, but there were plenty of parts that required seam-line fixing. Although I was tempted to modify parts & add details, I eventually decided to stick to an Out-of-Box build. The only part that I couldn’t let slide was the left hand. It was made of polycap material so I replaced it with a resin hand from B-club.

I didn’t want to stray from the original color scheme, but I did paint it. I was lazy & didn’t apply surfacer to any of the parts. The parts were sprayed as follows:

  • outer armor – MS Green (Gundam color spray)
  • the rest of the body – Gun Metal (Tamiya)
  • weapons – MS Gray (Gundam color spray)
  • the huge backpack – Navy Blue (Mr Color spray).

Some parts required masking but it was relatively painless. I used black enamel for panel lines and then added some water slide decals. I used the manual for the MG Turn X as a reference. After that is the usual flat topcoat.

Results:

Discussion:

For a relatively old kit, it has surprisingly good proportions and level of detail. But it also suffers from limitations of old kits: plenty of seam lines, usage of polycaps for the joints and hand. The articulation was also quite poor. It’s very difficult to get good action poses with it.

But overall, I had no regrets purchasing this kit, given its unique design and size. If you prefer more details & gimmicks and superior posability, get the MG Turn X instead.

 

 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Using the hiq parts decal xD

    • hahah that obvious, huh?

  2. Nice. :D


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

