HGUC Zaku Mariner

March 31, 2015 at 14:21 | Posted in 1/144 scale | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Introduction:

It has been a winter of no gunpla activity for me, so I thought I’d wake up my Gunpla spirit by doing a relatively simple project. I chose the HGUC Zaku Mariner as a continuation of my Zeon Remnants project. The idea was just to swap the Zaku Mariner backpack with the Zee Zulu backpack. Unlike many of my other projects, I will paint it according to its original color scheme.

Materials & methods:

The work in progress can be found here.

I wasn’t too happy with the toothpick harpoon, so I replaced it with a thicker one made from spare runner. I sharpened the tip and added some details using plaplate. Also added a Gouf sword for melee battle.

All parts were primed with dark grey surfacer, and then airbrushed with the following colors:

  • Arms, thighs: Green (~60%) + cobalt blue (~40%)
  • Chest, lower legs: Intermediate blue (~70%) + off white (~30%) + a few drops of green-blue from above
  • Backpack: German gray (~90%) + off white (~10%)

Some parts on the legs were handpainted with red enamel. After leaving the paint to dry for a day, I proceeded to apply some waterslide decals. I scraped them a little bit using my hobby blade to simulate scratch/battle damage. Then I sprayed some gloss topcoat to protect the decals before applying an enamel wash (red brown + yellow) for weathering. I added scratch marks using silver enamels, and rust stains using gundam marker before applying the final flat topcoat layer.

Results:

HGUC Zaku Mariner

Discussion:

The Zaku Mariner doesn’t seem to be quite a popular kit, judging by the lack of completed builds on the web. The reason I added this kit to my Zeon Remnants list was its conservative & sensible design. Plus I wanted to make use of the spare Zee Zulu backpack.

There’s not much to say about this kit. The joints uses a modern design but the range of movement is still HG level, except for the shoulder joints. Kinda wished they designed a swiveling monoeye, too. Other than those grouses, this is a relatively solid kit & a vast improvement over the early HGUC Zaku kits.

Overall, I’m quite satisfied with the outcome and glad that it has achieved its objective, namely reviving my dormant Gunpla spirit. Now my hands are itching for the next project.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

