Zeon Remnants Project

April 6, 2015 at 14:26 | Posted in Random rants | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

For me, there’s only two memorable scenes from the Unicorn OVA. The first was the Kshatriya vs Jegans skirmish in Episode 1. The second is the attack on a Federation base by Zeon remnant forces in Episode 4. After looking at the Zeon remnant units from this list, I decided to pay homage to that scene by make a series of builds that I call the Zeon Remnants Project.

I narrowed it down to a few kits, based on their design. I prefer a more militaristic feel to my kits and not too keen on unconventional designs like the Zogok and Juaggu. Another factor is the availability of the kit and/or spare parts. Some units do not have official HGUC releases, so I have to rely on resin kits or old MSV kits. So here’s the list of what I’ve completed and what I’m planning to do in the future.

Dwadge

zrp_dwadge

I built the Dwadge before I conceived of this project, but I’ll just add it to the list for the sake of completeness. It’s made up of resin parts using a HGUC Dom as a base. You can view the completed kit here.

Marasai

zrp_marasai

There is an actual HGUC Marasai (Unicorn ver), but I used the older, orange HGUC Marasai kit I bought years ago. Made some changes to the weaponry and shoulders, and added Zimmerit coating effect. You can view the completed kit here.

Zaku Mariner

zrp_zaku-mariner

Just a simple build with a backpack transplanted from the Zee Zulu. Stayed true to the original color scheme and added some light weathering effects. Completed kit is here.

Zee Zulu

zrp_zee-zulu

Although not officially listed as a Zeon remnant unit, I included the Zee Zulu because I kinda liked the design. At least it was shown fighting with the other Zeon remnant units in the OVA. Instead of buying the actual HGUC kit, I bought many different spare parts from Yellow Submarine to build a frankenstein kit. It won’t be an amphibious unit anymore, but a long-range ground assault unit. Stay tuned…

Z’Gok

zrp_zgok

Planning a simple project for this one. Just repaint the RG Char’s Z’gok to the color scheme above. Maybe just add some light weathering effects like the Zaku Mariner.

Zaku Sniper

zrp_zaku-sniper

Probably my favourite unit from the list. I have the HGUC Zaku Sniper kit, but the proportions look slightly outdated. I’m thinking attaching the Zaku Sniper parts to a more modern HGUC or RG Zaku kit.

Dom Tropen

zrp_dom-tropen

An old HGUC kit, and I’m anticipating a lot of modifications for this one. I’ve already decided to change the armaments to a handheld gatling cannon, with the ammo storage mounted on the back. Inspired by the Dom Barrage design.

Zaku Cannon

zrp_zaku-cannon

There is no HGUC kit for the Zaku Cannon, only an old 1/144 MSV kit. To do a full conversion might sound too troublesome, so another option is to do a Zaku Half Cannon. Yes, there is such a thing. Maybe I’ll do a mashup of both, a Zaku Three-Quarter Cannon perhaps?

Galluss K

zrp_galluss-k

I was kinda disappointed Bandai released the HGUC Schuzrum Galluss instead of the Galluss K. Nevertheless, I was determined to make one, so I bought an old 1/144 Galluss J kit with plans to modify it to the Gallus K. Maybe I’ll scour for some additional spare parts from Yellow Submarine to improve the old kit.

Efreet Schneid

zrp_efreet

This will probably be the most challenging build in this series. There’s no HGUC kit or old 1/44 kits for the Efreet Schneid, but I found a resin recast kit of Efreet Nacht on Yahoo Auctions. It actually looks better than the Schneid, with a better color scheme as well. But since it’s a full resin kit, it won’t be posable like normal gunpla. I was thinking of transplanting some HGUC joints to the resin parts to counter that.

So there you have it, the outline of my most ambitious project to date. Have I bitten off more than I can chew? As daunting as it looks, I still hope to finish off this project by the end of this year. Ganbarimasu!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Where’s the Desert Gelgoog?

    • yeah, i thought about that one, but i couldn’t find the appropriate parts to make a desert gelgoog so i skipped it

  2. quite the project. Good luck, I’m eager to see the full cast assambled


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

