Chara Hobby 2015 (C3xHOBBY)

August 24, 2015 at 22:23 | Posted in Events | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

I have never attended the Chara Hobby or C3 x HOBBY before this. Driven by curiosity, I decided to check out this year’s event at Makuhari Messe in Chiba. The entrance fee was 1500 yen and the event hall was more diverse than I initially thought. In addition to figures, there were  mobile & card game booths, cars, and a spattering of Gunpla.

There wasn’t anything really interesting at the Bandai section. There’s the MG RX-78 Origin version and some P-Bandai releases like the MG Altron EW. Also on display are kits from the latest Gundam anime, Tekketsu no Orphans.

There’s a cosplay section, but it didn’t seem to be as big as other events. But the main thing that interested me was the Marketplace, where vendors of garage kits (resin) sell their wares. Unlike WonFes where most of the kits were anime girls, the ones here have a lot more Gundam-related kits. A typical 1/144 scale full-resin kit would cost 10,000 yen while 1/100 scale ones can cost at least 30,000 yen. Expensive, yes, but cheaper that what you’ll find in auction sites (except recast kits). By the time I got there, most of the ones I’m interested in were sold out, but I did manage to buy two 1/144 resin kits: a GM and a Guncannon. That emptied my walled very quickly so I left after taking some photos.

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I wish I had the money to go to one of these shows sometime.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

