Zeta Gundam Head Display Base

October 28, 2015 at 13:44 | Posted in Other scales | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

I decided to take a break from my Zeon Remnants Project and build something different. I chose the smallest box from my stack of backlogged kits and it turned out to be the Zeta Head Display Base. It was included with the Gundam Ace comic some years back. I put off building it because I couldn’t decide what color scheme to go for. Some color variations like Amuro colors, Red Zeta & Titans colors were considered, but I finally settled for the Grey Zeta color scheme.

Grey Zeta is actually a misnomer, since the color scheme is mostly orange-yellow. I used the MG Grey Zeta (P-Bandai) as a reference, but with some minor changes. On the back of the antenna there are some empty gaps. I could’ve filled them with putty but I felt it wasn’t worth the effort. After priming with dark-grey surfacer, I painted the head as follows:

  • Face, horns: light gull grey
  • Forehead, chest verniers: german grey
  • Inside neck: dark gray (2)
  • Head armor & body: orange-yellow + off white (airbrushed)

For the eyes and head sensor, I attached Hasegawa mirror finish stickers and handpainted clear green and clear blue on them. The stand was left unpainted. What follows is standard procedure: panel-lining, decals & flat topcoat.

This was a relatively simple project; it took me an extended weekend to finish it. Most of it was just masking and waiting for paint to dry. So here’s the final result:

zetahead_19

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. love the colors you used and the subtle weathering!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

