Gunpla Expo 2015

November 24, 2015 at 13:13 | Posted in Events | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

This year’s Gunpla Expo in Akihabara featured mostly kits from the Gundam Origin OVA and the current anime, Iron-Blooded Orphans (IBO). From the Origin series, the upcoming HG releases are the Zaku I, prototype Zaku I, prototype Dom, and an unknown unit. I’m glad the Zaku I gets a new release and can’t wait for next spring. There’s also the MG Gundam Origin which is already on sale.

There’s several kits from the IBO series, but I’m not too familiar with the names since I haven’t watched it yet. The 1/100 kits seem to have a complete inner frame but oddly enough not considered as MG.

For the HG revive series, we’ll be getting the Quebley, Gouf, Gyan and Force Impulse. The upcoming RG releases are the most disappointing (to me, at least). We’ll have the Wing Gundam (Endless Waltz), followed by the RG Quanta. I haven’t bought an RG kit since the RG Z’Gok, and at this rate, that trend sets to continue.

The next bit of news was more to my liking: the next RE/100 kit is the Efreet custom. I was hoping for a GM Sniper II, but the Efreet is fine too. The MG series featured another re-release; this time it’s MG Freedom 2.0. Compared with the old MG, the 2.0 version has that ver. Ka feel to it.

Like previous expos, they had a section for gunpla made by famous people in Japan. The ones painted in gaudy colors tend to be made by idol group members. But there are some nice ones like the orange balls. The last section was for the Gunpla Builders World Cup entries. There were many very impressive builds on display but my personal favourite was the Sengoku Astray in a Japanese-style room. Turned out the winner was the Talgeese A.

Here’s the limited kits on-sale during the expo. I didn’t buy any of them, but I did get a free door gift upon entry. It was just a base plate with Gundam 35th written on it.

gexpo2015_001

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

