Zeon Remnants Project: current status

December 22, 2015 at 11:37 | Posted in Random rants | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

It’s winter again and as you can see from the totally scientific chart below, it means some downtime in my gunpla activity.

Figure1

As a result, it is definitely impossible for me to finish the remaining Zeon remnant kits by this year. So far, of the 10 kits from this list, I have finished 7 of them. Here they are lined up nicely on my shelf. You can view them individually in the gallery page.

zrp-sofar

The remaining 3 are the Zaku Cannon, Galluss K and Efreet Schneid. If you’re wondering what happened to them, read on:

For the Zaku Cannon, I decided to build one that’s close to the original design instead of building a Zaku Half Cannon. I’ve settled on most parts on the top half of the body, it’s the legs that got me stuck.  Completion status: ~50%

zrp-wip_01

As for the Galluss K, it’s a kitbash between the HGUC Schzrum Galluss and the Galluss J. It’s not so straight forward as I would’ve liked and I still haven’t decided on a lot of things, for example the head & backpack design.  Completion status: ~40%

zrp-wip_02

I initially thought the Efreet Schneid would be the most problematic, but so far it hasn’t been the case. I’m using the Gouf R35 kit as the base and attaching Efreet Nacht resin parts on it. Right now I’m having problems attaching the lower legs (resin) to the knees. Maybe I’ll just use Gouf Custom legs instead. Completion status: ~60%.

zrp-wip_03

 

And now I’d like to announce a last-minute addition to the Zeon Remnants Project: the Desert Zaku.

zrp_zaku-desert

Using the HGUC Zaku II F2 kit as base, I added parts from the MSV Zaku Desert Type kit. The Zaku Desert Type and Desert Zaku are not the same thing, so this one will be a mashup of both designs. Completion status: ~70%.

zrp-wip_04

It may seem that I have started all these projects simultaneously, but actually as I was building the Zaku Cannon, I got stuck on some parts and started with the Galluss K. Then when I encountered a problem with that, I started with the Efreet Schneid. And when that came to a halt, I started with the Desert Zaku. And so that’s how I ended up with four ongoing projects right now. I’m not sure when I can finish them all but it’s definitely not this year. With that I wish you all Happy Holidays.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I just rediscovered your blog and it’s simply amazing all over again. I’m currently rebuilding my old 1/144 NG Gouf from 1993 using a Frame Arms as base and was on the verge of quitting until I ran into your works. Thank you for your awesome posts and giving me inspiration to keep going. Happy New Year!

  2. Your works are só amazing!
    Se can wait until the next year tô ser you finish them.

    Happy new year! Thanks for keep posting!

  3. Just gonna leave this here :http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:483766/
    Best of luck to you


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

