HGUC Desert Zaku

April 17, 2016 at 01:02 | Posted in 1/144 scale | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Introduction:

The Desert Zaku was not in my initial plan for the Zeon Remnants Project (ZRP), but I included it anyway because I was going nowhere with the other kits in that list. I wanted to do something simple before I get too mired in my gunpla rut.

So for this project, I’m using the HGUC Zaku II F2 as base and incorporate parts from other kits to make something that resembles the Desert Zaku.

Materials & methods:

Read the work-in-progress here.

For painting, I decided to stick to the original color scheme. I mixed my own paint as follows:

  • Shoulders: ~60% green + ~20% Russian green (2) + ~20% german gray
  • Torso & lower legs: Propeller color (Mr Color 131)
  • Arms & thighs: Brown (Gaianotes 207) + a few drops of Smoke gray
  • Bazooka: Yellow brown (Gaianotes 205). Airbrushed camo patterns directly using the above dark green mixture

After the paint has dried, I applied some decals, sealed them with gloss topcoat, and then applied my standard weathering treatment:  enamel wash (red brown + yellow), paint chipping, dry brushing, and some weathering pastel around the feet. Finally it’s the mandatory flat topcoat.

Results:

HGUC Desert Zaku

Now some photos of the weapons:

And finally some action poses:

 

Discussion:

After a few months break, the Zeon Remnants Project is now back on track. Although I named this one the Desert Zaku, the only thing that’s accurate is my color scheme. It is still essentially a Zaku II F2 with Hizack & Zaku Desert Type parts attached to it. I didn’t modify the proportions or articulation this time since I don’t want to further complicate this project.

Actually my favourite part of this build is the weapons. It was really satisfying to modify the Zaku 90mm machinegun into the quintessential Nazi weapon, the MP40. Although not 100% accurate, I think I managed to retain the spirit of it. As for the bazooka, it was my first attempt at drawing camo patterns directly using the airbrush. If you look at it closely, you’ll notice some paint sputtering. Definitely needs more practice.

With this one complete, I hope I can return to my remaining Zeon remnant builds and finish them up. If I’m stuck again, I just might add another new kit to the ZRP list…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

