HGUC Galluss K – Work in progress

December 11, 2016 at 17:57 | Posted in Work In Progress | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

The initial plan for this Galluss-K project is to kitbash the HGUC Schuzrum Galluss with an older HG 1/144 Gallus-J kit. That plan changed when I bought a Galluss-K resin kit conversion at the C3 hobby show. You’d think that this will then be a straight-forward job, but it turned out not to be the case. Now let’s get started:

Head:
From the figure below, I had three heads to choose from. I couldn’t decide between the Galluss J or K heads, so I kept both.

galluss-k_wip_01

I had to remove some excess plastic from the Galluss-J head to accommodate the internal parts from the Schuzrum Galluss head.

galluss-k_wip_02

I trimmed off the original monoeye from the Schuzrum Galluss part and attached a round plate. Onto that I will attach a clear pink lens from Wave.

galluss-k_wip_03

 

Arms:
The shoulder armor is from the resin kit, but I replaced the spikes with the ones from Kotobukiya MSG.

galluss-k_wip_04

The arms are from the HGUC kit, but I had to remove the ‘sleeves’. I simply covered that part with putty and sanded it out.

galluss-k_wip_04b

 

Body:
The backpack consists of several huge chunks of resin. The resin kit didn’t come with any verniers, but fortunately I had plenty of spares lying around.

galluss-k_wip_05

Another problem is that the original polycap joints in the HGUC body might not be able to support the backpack weight, leading to some balance issues. Therefore I decided to use the sturdier double ball joints from Hobby Base. I attached it to the upper body with some epoxy putty.

galluss-k_wip_06

To connect the double joint to the hips, I attached a small pipe wrapped in epoxy putty to where the original polycap was. That way the body can still swivel sideways.

galluss-k_wip_07

I had to trim some of the HGUC groin parts to accommodate the new resin part.

galluss-k_wip_08

Likewise for the back part. In this case I had to remove a large chunk of the back skirt armor in order to attach the resin part.

galluss-k_wip_09

 

Legs:
The thighs are from the HGUC kit, but I attached some plaplate to hide the joint that connects the leg to the body.

galluss-k_wip_10

I had to cut off the HGUC knee from the shin armor and attach the resin knee to the HGUC shin armor.

galluss-k_wip_11

The rest of the leg is just attaching resin parts to the HGUC legs.

 

Weapons:
The resin kit comes with a shoulder mounted cannon and two forearm mounted cannons. I decided not to use the resin shoulder cannon and instead used the rifle from the HG Jahanam kit, with some modifications of course. First I cut off the rounded muzzle and replaced it with a rectangular vent. Then I cut off the grip and replaced it with a joint from Kotobukiya MSG.

galluss-k_wip_12

 

In addition to the above mods, I had to perform extra work on the resin parts. First, I soaked them in soapy water followed by a light scrub to remove any excess chemicals on the surface. As I was test fitting, I noticed some surfaces of the resin were uneven. I remedied it using some basic putty and lots of sanding. I didn’t want any resin powder flying around in my room so I did wet sanding instead.
To bind the resin pieces together, super glue is often adequate. But to reinforce the binding, I inserted a metal rod or pin on one half of a resin part. That metal pin is then inserted into a hole I drilled on the other half.

galluss-k_wip_13

 

So here’s what it looked like before painting:

galluss-k_wip_14 galluss-k_wip_15

For reference, here’s what was on display when I bought the resin kit.

c3t2016b_143

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I have always like Zeon Remnats suits from ZZ and Unicorn OVA. My first “vintage” kit was that Gallus J you posted here.
    You made made me a really happy man now. Thank you for all your hard work you put in it.

    • Thanks. In the end I only used the head from the Galluss J kit, though

  2. Do you have any reccomendations for finding a gallus k conversion kit online? So far I haven’t had much luck and would love to pick one up after seeing your work.

    • i can only think of auction sites like ebay or yahoo auctions, but as you said, it depends on luck. good luck!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

