HGUC RB-79/K Ball

April 4, 2017 at 20:35 | Posted in 1/144 scale | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Introduction
What’s better than having a Ball? Having a pair, of course. The previous HG Thunderbolt Ball got me interested in more Balls, but the HGUC Ball set looked too plain to my liking.
So I purchased a different Ball set, this one from Premium Bandai. This kit features the orange RB-79K Ball from 08th MS Team, and the RB-79 Sharkmouth Ball from MS Igloo. I decided to keep to the orange color scheme for the RB-79K, but for the RB-79 Sharkmouth, I went for the MG Ball ver. Ka color scheme.

Materials & methods:
Not much modifications this time; I simply added some detail-up parts just to spruce things up. I used clear lens from Wave for the RB-79K headlights.
For the RB-79, I removed the extra thrusters from its bottom and added extra rings inside the side thrusters.

Painting:
This time, painting was done wholly by airbrush. For some colors, I used the remaining paint that I decanted from almost empty spray cans. They can be used directly on the airbrush without thinner. I sprayed gray surfacer on all parts and proceeded with painting like so:

  • Arms: MS Gray, Dark gray 31, dark gray 32
  • Weapons: ~80% German gray + ~20% dark gray 31
  • Verniers: gloss black, followed by starbright duralumin
  • RB-79K body: 90% orange yellow + 10% red
  • RB-79 body: 80% dark gray 31 + 20% off white

After that it’s panel lining, decals, and flat topcoat, in that order. No weathering this time; I wanted to go for a clean look.

Results:

First up, the pseudo ver. ka Ball:

And now the Orange Ball:

And finally, Balls:

Discussion:

Some plus points about this kit:

  • Parts separation is very good, making painting a relative breeze.
  • Arms have several points of articulation, increasing the range of movement
  • Canopy cover is clear plastic (yay!)
  • Comes with two extra head cannons

I don’t have anything negative to say about this kit, other than the small stand. I guess it’s better than nothing, but I still prefer the Thunderbolt Ball stand. Overall, it was really fun building something different.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Love the work you’ve put into these. Was thinking of what to do with my MG Ball Ver.Ka and waht you’ve done here just gave me an idea.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

