HG Buku

September 20, 2017 at 02:13 | Posted in 1/144 scale | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Introduction:

I bought the HG Bugu kit in order to use the legs for my Zaku Cannon project. Rather than leaving the Bugu legless, I decided to do a kitbash with Zaku I parts.

Thus, Buku = Bugu x Zaku. For the color scheme, the main inspiration for this build is the old MG kit, Ramba Ral’s Zaku I.

Materials & methods:

I used the Thunderbolt Zaku I head, and attached a commander’s antenna from MS Blade 01 set. Made the eye slit slightly narrower near the middle using some putty.

I removed the ladders on the shoulder armor and replaced the backpack with Char’s Zaku II backpack. Extra thrusters on the top were covered with putty.

The power cables on the torso were removed and the gap in the abdomen was filled with putty.

The legs were from Char’s Zaku I kit. I covered some panel lines on the thighs and calves with basic putty.

For weapons, I bought the HGUC GP02 bazooka and a 1/12 scale resin Lewis machinegun at Yellow Submarine.
For melee weapons, I used the axe from my old HGUC Garma Zabi Zaku II kit. I also made a handheld Zaku shield with spikes.

The torso was painted with Intermediate blue + white, while the limbs & head were painted with a mix of cobalt blue + german gray.
After that it’s decals, light weathering, and flat topcoat.

 

Results:

A closer look at the weapons:

And finally some poses:

Discussion:

The good thing about the HG Bugu kit is that it’s modern kit, making kitbashing a relatively painless process.
There were some worrisome moments, for example when applying the decals. Some waterslide decals in my collection may well be 10 years old, and were prone to tearing.
Also, the ugly gash on the back of the right leg is not a weathering effect, but was the result of some accidental touching before the topcoat layer actually dried.
But overall, it was fun making a hybrid Bugu/Zaku look like Ramba Ral’s Zaku I.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Love the shades of blue. Seamless integration between the two kits, keep up the great work!

  2. This is an absurd!
    Absurdely beautiful work!
    Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

